Skip to main content


The Byron-Brentwood-Knightsen Union Cemetery District is governed by a three person Board of Trustees. Board Members are appointed by the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors. The District lies primarily in the Third Supervisorial District, while a small portion of it lies within the Fifth Supervisor’s District. Each Trustee serves a four-year term. The terms are staggered so that there are never more than two trustees appointed at the same time. 

Once appointed and in place, the Board is autonomous from any other government agency, but must follow all California State laws regulating government agencies. The District’s authorizing legislation, the California State Health & Safety Code §9000, allows Public Cemetery Districts to have a governing Board of either three or five Trustees.  Boards may petition Supervisors to increase or decrease its size. The Board of Trustees may use the LAFCO process to increase the size of the District’s boundaries. And, LAFCO has the authority to increase or decrease the size of a district, based upon the District’s Sphere of Influence (SOI) and service area.